Not seeing a Scroll to Top Button? Go to our FAQ page for more info.

EXTERNAL release their new EP 'Stillness' and music video for 'Motion in Stillness'


Finnish hypermodern metal band External have released their new EP “Stillness”. Each song was released individually once a month starting from September and now ending with “Motion In Stillness”, which is also accompanied by a music video.


Music video:


The band tells:

"Stillness" was born in the uncertain spring of 2020. We were supposed to work on our second album, but when the pandemic hit, we all quarantined in our homes. During that time, completely out of nowhere, this set of songs was manifested.
Musically, it’s quite different from anything we have done before. The songs ended up in more of an alternative direction, embracing many of our influences outside of metal, such as third stream jazz and the British jazz scene, contemporary classical music such as Ólafur Arnalds and Nordic visionaries like the legendary Björk.

Four of the songs have been previously released as singles, and now the final one, ”Motion in Stillness”, pieces together the entire puzzle. Accompanied by a music video, the song works as a thematic centerpiece for the EP, representing the core and soul of the music that was born in silence and isolation. It embraces people’s ability to find beauty in smaller things, meaning from meaninglessness and sources of light in the dark, even (and especially) during weird times like these.

Each track on the EP is embodied by a beautiful painting by Teemu Mikaél. His artistic vision definitely breathed some new life to the songs.




External - Stillness tracklist:

1. Feet Don’t Fail
2. Against the Wind
3. Motion in Stillness
4. Hunting Butterflies
5. Inertia

EP credits:

Motion in Stillness” video shot, directed and edited by Aleksi Yli-Somero and Roger Lundberg
Concept and acting by External

Music and lyrics by Samuel Järvinen and Julius Lehtonen
Recorded by Roger Lundberg
Drums recorded by Samu Oittinen (Fantom Studio)
Mixed and mastered by Samu Oittinen (Fantom Studio)
String arrangements by Elias Nieminen


Cover art by Teemu Mikaél


Listen to the EP:


YouTube Music:



Write a comment...

Latest reviews

499 Even Knudsen

THE DEVILS OF LOUDUN Escaping Eternity

The Devils Of Loudun is a symphonic/melodic death metal band heading from Seattle, Washington and…
712 Even Knudsen

STORMKEEP Tales Of Othertime

I don’t listen to black metal nearly as often these days as I did 15-20 years ago, but once in a…
645 Even Knudsen

PATHOLOGY The Everlasting Plague

Over the past couple of decades a jungle of sub-genres have emerged within extreme metal in…
733 Even Knudsen

MASSACRE Resurgence

Massacre was formed in Tampa, Florida as long back as in 1984 and they released a few demos in the…
1053 Even Knudsen

DREAM THEATER A View From The Top Of The World

A View From The Top Of The World is the 15th full length album from prog metal veterans Dream…
1216 Even Knudsen

BLOOD RED THRONE Imperial Congregation

It’s time for a dose of Norwegian death metal again, as Blood Red Throne returns with their 10th…











The Staff

Playlist Edvardsen

Playlist Even Knudsen


Contact us


Follow Us:

facebook 32 twitter 32



Photos, articles and comments are owned by the poster. are not responsible for user content.


Copyright © 2020.


Online since 1999.


Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me